welcome to the DIP website



24 universities - 72 entries - 6 finalists

The 2010 award challenged student designers and design engineers to create a product that addressed economic and environmental concerns yet was innovative and ‘refreshing’. Interpretations of this ‘Refreshing Design’ theme ranged from a flat-pack mini greenhouse, a folding bicycle and a backpackers’ laundry system to products concerned with the conservation and filtration of water. The judging panel, chaired by Richard Brown, Operations Director for Hi-Technology Group, remarked on the high standard of entries compared to last year, and selected the following six finalists:

  • ‘Precision D Shin Guard’, Jaipreet Bahra, Aston University An innovative soccer shin guard incorporating smart polymer material
  • ‘Smokefree Linx’, Bradley Coulson, Northumbria University A bracelet to aid smoking cessation
  • ‘flow•R•spiral’, Helena From, London South Bank University A shower head based on a ball and spiral mechanism designed to reduce water consumption by more than half.
  • ‘Pincer’, Matthew Ince, University of Huddersfield A pincer-shaped aid for safely lifting and carrying heavy building blocks on construction sites.
  • ‘Stackable Composter’, James Shutt, Northumbria University A garden composter that speeds up the composting process, allows easy access to the mature compost and is impenetrable to nesting rodents.
  • ‘SafetyNet Trawling System’, Dan Watson, Royal College of Art A redesigned trawl net which offers an affordable way to improve the sustainability and lower the environmental impact of demersal (bottom) trawler fishing.

A unique feature of the Design Innovation in Plastics Award is the feedback from the judges which enables the finalists to refine their designs for the last judging stage. This session will be held on 1 June in the VisionWorks Material Science Learning Zone, an education centre sponsored by Bayer MaterialScience, and run by the Royal Armouries education team, adjacent to the historic vaults of the Tower of London.

Further information is available from Sylvia Katz, Award Co-ordinator.