welcome to the DIP website


'Who will win Design Innovation in Plastics 2012?'

Newbury, June 8, 2012

The Design Innovation in Plastics competition was in its final judging stage recently when its six finalists, out of a total of 92 entries, gathered at the headquarters of the British Plastics Federation in London, to present their designs in 20 minutes to the panel of judges.

Each of the finalists had to deliver a strong case for their product whilst sticking to the
brief of this year's competition, 'Universal Design: Designing for the Rest of Us'.

The 2012 finalists are:

Danny Lynch, Nottingham Trent University - Clean-Cut, a tool to help those with visual or physical impairments to construct and cut sandwiches.

Gediminas Kuprys, University of Bradford - Floor Mouse, a foot-operated computer mouse with additional options for using the foot control with a keyboard, or with a mouse and keyboard.

Jamie Mansfield, Nottingham Trent University - Flexible Flat-Pack Clothing Hanger, a clothes hanger with flexible arms that collapse and spring back allowing the user to attach clothing via the neck without taking the hanger from rail or undoing buttons.

Michal Mojduszka, University for the Creative Arts Rochester - Plug Pull Adaptor, a simple strip attachment that makes using and removing plugs very much easier for everyone. Simplifies the job of locating the right plug and promotes independence of the visually-impaired as braille can be moulded into the strips.

Oliver Brunt, Northumbria University – Sense See Remember, an organisational memory aid based on a series of adhesive textured and coloured tabs to use as prompts in place of electronic devices.

Rowan Williams, Loughborough University - Pego, a kitchen aid free of the visual aesthetics of current disability products that provides grip and stability in food preparation.

Design Innovation in Plastics is owned by The Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining (IOM3) and The Worshipful Company of Horners, with the continued support of Bayer MaterialScience as the principal industry sponsor.

The award ceremony will take pace on Friday 29th June 2012 at the Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining in London. Each finalist will receive a cash prize and work placement in the industry.


Andrea Postles, Tel. 01635 563 031
E-Mail: andrea.postles@bayer.com
Tel: 01635 563 031

Sylvia Katz, Award Coordinator
Tel: 020 7503 5949

For more information and to register, go to: www.designinnovationplastics.org